This is the second year for Obliteride — a fundraiser for the Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center. Last year I rode the 50 miler, but I decided I’d go bigger this year and go for the full 100. Like last year, my friends and family generously donated a ton of money, helping me raise $1,664!

The weekend started with a party at Gasworks Park.

Jen and Maya enjoying the music.

Jen and Maya enjoying the music.

Some inspiration for the hard miles ahead.

Some inspiration for the miles ahead.

Michael Franti rocking the party. Maya said he was too loud.

Michael Franti rocking the party. Maya said he was too loud.

I decided that it only made sense to ride to the start. It was just 7 miles, all downhill. Sunday morning I was out the door at 6:15, taking a leisurely pace to the start at Magnuson Park. I was woefully under-trained for a ride like this, so I had only two goals.

  1. Finish
  2. Have fun
The 100 mile riders lined up.

The 100 mile riders lined up.

It was the perfect Seattle summer morning. 60 degrees. Not a cloud in the sky. And we were off, cruising through closed-off streets and around the south end of Lake Washington.

Along the shores of Lake Washington

Along the shores of Lake Washington

Along the shores of Lake Washington.

Through the Renton Airport where Boeing does final testing on the 737.

I was trying to take it easy and pace myself. Because from there we went out east and hit the two big climbs of the day. First Squak Mountain, then Tiger Mountain. After those climbs I was still feeling good and had only 60 miles to go.

This guy and I rode together for about 30 miles, trading pulls. He did most of the pulling.

This guy and I rode together for about 30 miles, trading pulls. He did most of the pulling.

This woman had flags on her bike showing everyone she's riding for. I guess she's not concerned about aerodynamics.

This woman had flags on her bike showing everyone she’s riding for. I guess she’s not concerned about aerodynamics.

Looking good at one of the rest stops.

Looking good at one of the rest stops.

I stopped for lunch at Marymoor park just after the halfway point. That’s when I started to feel the effects of under-training. It was getting hot. My legs were sore. My butt was sore. My back was sore. But I kept turning the cranks.

Climbing the last big hill of the day. Mile 80ish.

Climbing the last big hill of the day. Mile 80ish.

At Seward Park,the last rest stop of the day. I needed a break. 15 miles to go.

At Seward Park,the last rest stop. I needed a break. 15 miles to go.

The finish line!

The finish line!

I rolled into the finish about 8 hours after the start. Sore, tired, and relieved. I guzzled some water, ate some food, and relaxed in the shade.

Oh yeah, I still have to ride home. I slowly climbed back on the bike and slogged through 7 more uphill miles.

I came home to this - "Good job Daddy!"

I came home to this. “Good job Daddy!”

Final stats:

  • 118.4 miles
  • 4,885 feet climbed
  • 7:45 moving time, 10:25 elapsed time
  • Avg: 15.3 mph Max: 36.5 mph

So in the end, I finished, and fun was had (mostly).

